Apply for
VISA to Greece
Click Here   
  Biometric Data Collection

Preparing your application

Please Note:

Short Stay Visas (Type "C" visas) (Schengen Visas) issued for short periods, not exceeding 90 days per semester are:

  • Business
  • Tourism
  • Close relatives'/Family members' visits
  • Cultural/sport events or activities

Attention Applicants!

Please be aware of changes in visa rules for counting of days of authorized stay within the Schengen area for short stays that took effect since 18 October 2013.

Legality of your stay within the Schengen area may be checked at any moment of your stay there (including at border crossing). The reference period of 180 days within which the foreigner can spend for up to 90 days in the Schengen area will be looked at backwards from each day of the stay (i.e. the calculation of stay will be done within 180 days preceding each day of stay).

When planning your future trip please follow these steps:

1. Look the reference period of 180 days (not 6 months!) from each day of your stay in the Schengen area backwards.

2. Calculate the summarized duration of previous stays (according to entrance/exit stamps in your passport(s) for each 180-days period.

3. Check whether these summarized durations do not exceed 90 in each 180-days period. If exceed, you have to change your trip plans and check again.

The European Commission puts at your disposal a calculation tool on the following link:

The European Commission puts at your disposal a user guide on the following link below. This link contains information on the new rules, the use of the calculator and practical examples.

Long Stay National Visas (Type "D" visas) issued with a scope of getting a temporary residence in Greece are:

  • Visa to study in Greece
  • Visa to work in Greece
  • Family Reunion Visa
  • Visa for Tour Leaders
  • Visa for all cases relating to the Greek law 3386/2005

Applications of Long Stay National Visas shall be submitted directly at the Consulate General of Greece in Moscow, St. Petersburg or Novorossiysk; depending on the jurisdictions of the Consulates.